Are there TWO types of DHT??

JamesB

Reaction score
Hi all,

I was wondering if somebody could clear this up for me. I think I read on this site somewhere that there are two types of DHT. The type that you attack via pills (Propecia etc) and another type that can be attacked via solutions directly onto the scalp. have I got this all screwed up, or is it that there are just two ways of attacked the DHT topically and with pills. I was under the impression most of the solutions you put on your head don't do much at all. Can somebody help me out, I'm fairly new to this.

Cheers
James

G

JamesB said:
Hi all,

I was wondering if somebody could clear this up for me. I think I read on this site somewhere that there are two types of DHT. The type that you attack via pills (Propecia etc) and another type that can be attacked via solutions directly onto the scalp. have I got this all screwed up, or is it that there are just two ways of attacked the DHT topically and with pills. I was under the impression most of the solutions you put on your head don't do much at all. Can somebody help me out, I'm fairly new to this.

Cheers
James

"Recent research indicates that the DHT that harms hair follicles comes from the the skin's sebocytes and sweat glands (sebaceous glands). (Chen et al 1996) 5 alpha-Reductase, the enzyme system that converts testosterone into DHT occurs in two enzyme forms. The type 1 represents the 'cutaneous type'; it is located primarily in the skin's sebocytes but also in epidermal and follicular keratinocytes, dermal papilla cells and sweat glands as well as in fibroblasts. The type 2 is located mainly in the seminal vesicles, prostate and in the inner root sheath of the hair follicle.

Propecia® (Finasteride), which has a higher affinity for the type 2 form, is best suited for for controlling prostate enlargement. It also must be administered by pills that spread the drug throughout the body. "

Bryan

Staff member
Reaction score
JamesB said: