Hair Loss Treatments
Hair Loss & Alopecia Information, Support, and Treatments
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

HDL Cholesterol and male pattern balding

Hope it is not a repeat - saw this mention of a study about HDL cholesterol, metabolic syndrome, and male pattern balding at:

http://nephropal.blogspot.com/

1) There is a higher incidence of male pattern balding with the metabolic syndrome. A Taiwanese study of 740 subjects, ages 40-91 years, revealed that there was a statistically significant association the metabolic syndrome and male pattern balding. The most important factor was HDL. (click)

Re: HDL Cholesterol and male pattern balding

I've been loosing hair since I was 21 in 2001. I went to see my doctor recently(2010) who said my cholesterol was high and he will give me some medication. The side-effect of this medication is more hairloss, so I said no thanks.

Total cholesterol tells you nothing. Even LDL, the "bad" cholesterol, does not say much by itself, despite what some doctors say. Oxidized LDL is a cause for worry, but you don't see the levels of oxLDL in standard tests.

EDIT: That's not to say that high HDL might not protect from hair loss -- that's quite plausible.

Quote Originally Posted by JLL
    Total cholesterol tells you nothing. Even LDL, the "bad" cholesterol, does not say much by itself, despite what some doctors say. Oxidized LDL is a cause for worry, but you don't see the levels of oxLDL in standard tests.

EDIT: That's not to say that high HDL might not protect from hair loss -- that's quite plausible.

This is 100% correct. However, consider this; high levels of histamine lower both LDL and HDL. High histamine is linked to undermethylation, excessive oxidation, inflamation i.e. CRP values and cox.

So if you have bad levels lipids in your blood you should have your histamine levels checked, if they are over it is very possible that you are undermethylating.